A New Jersey barber license will allow you to practice with your profession legally. Having it you can earn much more money. Besides, salons will be ready to hire you rather than another non-licensee one. Then, let’s start your career together. In this article, we collected the whole needful information to begin.
Becoming a specialist always starts with education. Indeed, hairdressing is not an exception too. NJ law demands studying a 900-hour training program. This involves theoretical and practical portions. The main talking points are about:
Attending a specialized and approved cosmetology school you may attain overall knowledge. It should cover a wide range of required topics.
And what are the licensing requirements? Except for providing attestation of graduation from 900- hour lessons, it is mandatory:
To issue permits the New Jersey Board demands to take two exams:
You may apply even if you have not completed the whole required course yet. But it is important to finish at least 720 hours out of 900. Only after succeeding in this stage can you move forward and get ready for the second step. You should appoint a date by phone calling (800) 733-9267 number. Or do it via Prometric by following these common steps:
The written test consists of 110 questions. The allocated time is over 2 hours. The minimum passing score is 75%. Prometric informs the NJB about your grades shortly after success.
Sure, this part is relatively difficult. You have to submit an offline request addressed to the Board mail attaching:
Whenever you end up doing these acts and meet the requirements you become eligible to go to the final exam. Then you will get a notice from the organizers about the day, time, and location. Yet, the response might take 6-8 weeks. Services that you are to perform in general refer to:
With a 75% or above mark, you can obtain your New Jersey barber permit. After that, they will send the original version to your mail address.
Permits are valid for two years. Accordingly, you need to refresh biannually giving a $60 charge. Also, you should submit a renewal form.
One of the frequently asked questions is: “Can I transfer my license from another state to NJ?” Since there is no transferability agreement, the answer is NO. Like Hawaii, you should make an out-of-state application and participate in the region examination.
NJ Office of the Attorney General
Division of Consumer Affairs
New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling
124 Halsey Street, 6th Floor, P.O. Box 45003
Newark, New Jersey 07101
Phone number: (973) 504-6400
Email: [email protected]